Archbishops’ Council

Coming into being in 1999, this body was established in order to give greater coherence and coordination to the central organisation of the church.   The two archbishops are its joint chairmen; ex officio members are the chairmen of the two convocations, the chairman and vice-chairman of the House of Laity of the General Synod and a Church Estates Commissioner.   Two members each are elected from the House of Bishops, the House of Clergy and the House of Laity of the General Synod.   Six members are nominated by the archbishops.   Under the terms of the National Institutions Measure 1998 its objects are “to coordinate, promote, aid and further the work and mission of the Church of England”.

« Return to listing.