The third diocese in seniority after Canterbury and York.   Also the first diocese to delegate, by law, substantial Episcopal powers to suffragan bishops in terms of independent responsibility in their areas.   It only covers London North of the Thames, and not all of that – Chelmsford and St Albans cover parts.   London South of the Thames is mainly under the jurisdiction of Southwark.

« Return to listing.