Synodical government

With the passing of the Synodical Government Measure 1970, the Church of England entered a new era, in which decision making, by and large, passed into the hands of clergy and laity acting in cooperation by way of a new hierarchy of bodies in which both were represented, in principle in equal numbers.   At the national level is the General Synod, and at diocesan and deanery levels diocesan and deanery synods, each of which is discussed separately.   Each synod consists of houses, whether of bishops or clergy or laity.   The clergy and laity are elected by the appropriate constituency.   Voting is mainly by the synod as a whole, but provision is made for voting by houses in which case a motion, to be passed, must be passed in all houses.   A classic example of this occurred in a vote in the General Synod on a motion to abolish patronage, which failed only because of a tie in the House of Bishops; it was passed in the other two houses.   (See Synodical Government Measure 1970)

« Return to listing.